Scientific Advisory Board

The scientific advisory board consists of scientists from across the world. They have been active for several years in the field of CAA and/or HCHWA-d. The scientists set up research targets and decide which studies are funded with the donations the Dutch CAA Foundation receives.


Mark A. van Buchem, MD, PhD
Professor and Chief of Neuroradiology
Department of Radiology
Leiden University Medical Center


Geert Jan Biessels, MD, PhD, Professor of Neurology
UMC Utrecht
Department of Neurology


M.J.H. Wermer MD PhD
Department of Neurology


Anand Viswanathan, MD, PhD
Massachusetts General Hospital Stroke Research Center
Stroke Service and Memory Disorders Unit


Randall J. Bateman M.D.
Charles F. and Joanne Knight Distinguished Professor of Neurology
Washington University School of Medicine


Rustam Al-Shabi Salman
Professor of clinical neurology and MRC senior clinical fellow,
University of Edinburgh Honorary consultant neurologist, NHS Lothian


Meike W. Vernooij MD PhD
Erasmus MC
Radiology and Epidemiology
neuroradiologist and head & neck radiologist


dr. ir. Marcel M. Verbeek,
Neurochemist, Associate Professor,
Radboud University Medical Centre, Donders Institute for Brain, Cognition and Behaviour,
Department of Neurology, Radboud Alzheimer Centre, Department of Laboratory Medicine,


David Werring
Reader in Clinical Neurology
UCL Institute of Neurology


Prof. Charlotte Cordonnier
Department of neurology & Stroke department
Lille University Hospital


Julie A. Schneider MD MS
Professor, Pathology (Neuropathology) and Neurological Sciences
Associate Director, Rush Alzheimer’s Disease Center
Rush University Medical Center


Jin-Moo Lee, MD, PhD
Associate Professor
Director, Cerebrovascular Disease Section
Director, Animal Surgery Core
Department of Neurology, Radiology, and Biomedical Engineering
and the Hope Center for Neurological Disorders
Washington University School of Medicine


Eric Edward Smith, MD, MPH, FRCPC, FAHA
Associate Professor, Dept of Clinical Neurosciences, Radiology and Community Health Sciences
Member, Hotchkiss Brain Institute
University of Calgary
Medical Director, Cognitive Neurosciences Clinic
Stroke Neurologist, Calgary Stroke Program


Harry V. Vinters, M.D.
Section of Neuropathology
Dept. of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine, UCLA Medical Center


Wiesje van der Flier, MD PhD
Head Research Alzheimer Center
Alzheimer Center, department of Neurology


Ir. Wouter de Heij (MSc.)
CEO and Co-Owner TOP b.v.


Mw. Dr. S.A.M.J. Lesnik Oberstein
Klinische genetica


Prof.Dr. S.M. van der Maarel
Humane genetica


Steven Mark Greenberg, M.D, Ph.D.
Director Hemorrhagic Stroke Research Program,
Professor of Neurology, MGH – Stroke Research Program